Notices
Classic Trucks '47-'98 GM Trucks - Performance | Conversions | General Discussion

Just bought a 94 GMC Need some help

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 11:13 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just bought a 94 GMC Need some help

Hey I just bought a 1994 GMC 2500 for work and it has a couple quirks that i need some help with. I am also looking for any specs. I tried the search button but really didn't come up with what I was looking for.

questions
#1... It has a 5.0 (305) with automatic. I wanted to know a little more about the motor. Compression ratio, head cc, roller cam,vortec heads, is this a OBDI or a OBDII , the SES light just came on today. I am very rusty when it comes to the older sbc stuff. I have been running a ls motor for 10 years..

#2... Gas gauges moves from full to empty while driving? The A/C panel small arrows for the temp. start blinking and are all lite up at the same time? Wierd buzzing noise under dash, not very loud but is annoying. Now brake lights don't work?

#3... what is the wheel lug pattern. Yes it has 6 lugs. Will the stock wheels fit from a 2001 silverado.

#4... What is being done about the clutch fan , would like to have a e-fan. How is the e-fans controlled?

#5... Engine has a slight miss.(I haven't checked the plugs yet) But if it came down to it can a 350 be dropped back into the 305's spot and still run the same computer with out modification?

#6... The front shocks are shot what is a good brand to swap it?

#7... The truck does not have power windows can I go to the wrecking yard and remove all the power window stuff from the same truck and install on mine? What about the wiring harness on my truck , will I have to modify at all.

I know alot of you are thinking damn dude you should of looked the truck over more and found one with the options you wanted before you bought it.