FORCED INDUCTION Turbos | Superchargers | Intercoolers | H2O/Meth Injection

Air to air intercooler install

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2006, 08:08 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air to air intercooler install

My intercooler turned up a few weeks ago but I had been so busy, I just left it laying there. Anyway, I got tired of looking at it on the garage floor so this morning I decided today was the day for an install.

I had read many posts on the forums about IC installs, along with many questions from lots of members. I thought I would take some pics as I went along and post my progress. Hopefully it may help anyone who decides to do it themselves.

Just a quick note. This is how I chose to do my install. It is by no means the right way as I don't know what the right way is. I'm not an engineer but I just used some common sense and ended up happy with the install.

I had access to a friends workshop but I wanted to see if it can be done using basic tools that most people have at home.
I used a 4.5" angle grinder and a 18v dewalt sawzall to cut the chassis rails and the rest of the steel to shape. Had a variety of grinding discs with me to make the job easier. A straight shaft grinder or even an air die grinder would have been really useful but not essential. I did find myself swapping discs frequently to be able to cut/grind/cut/sand which was a pain, but no big deal. I had a drill, actually only a 18v dewalt but that did the job ok. Only needed to drill 4 holes.
I used a mig welder to do all the welds. The chassis is only 3mm thick so even a small mig would have been ok to use.

All up, I spent about 8 hours but realistically it was about 5 hours of work.

I bought the IC with the 24" wide core and it was too long to fit between the chassis rails. I sat it under the chassis and made some marks where the cuts needed to be made.