FORCED INDUCTION Turbos | Superchargers | Intercoolers | H2O/Meth Injection

Making the turbo louder? at idle

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2011, 05:02 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making the turbo louder? at idle

Just wondering about this, I see some videos of STS turbos on silverados and you can hear the turbo whistling while the truck just sits there at idle. Mine is crazy quiet, you can't hear it at all until it goes into boost (which is somewhat a good thing, from a stop to about 3,000rpm people think it's just a stock truck w/ exhaust)

I know that on the dodge cummins (garrett turbos) people remove the silencer ring at the inlet of the turbo. I have a master power 70 turbo, I'm pretty sure they arn't made the same, but wondering if there was anything that could be done?
Old 05-01-2011, 05:30 PM
TECH Resident

Old 05-01-2011, 07:34 PM
TECH Fanatic

I duno if you have a rear mount or not but they typically have an extremely short downpipe, like less than a foot in most cases...... I always figured this made em whistle a little louder
Old 05-01-2011, 09:36 PM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by Swerve7rpm2000
I duno if you have a rear mount or not but they typically have an extremely short downpipe, like less than a foot in most cases...... I always figured this made em whistle a little louder
ahh, you probably nailed it. I've been searching a lot about it and I can only find stuff on diesel engines, everyone says to add the huge down pipe and get rid of mufflers/cats

I did stumble across a Wrx sti post though, where they removed the silencer on the turbo and it cause the turbo to be louder

02z71-- explain? lol
Old 05-05-2011, 10:34 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post