FORCED INDUCTION Turbos | Superchargers | Intercoolers | H2O/Meth Injection

ProCharger vs. Rear Mount for DD/towing

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2009, 04:20 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ProCharger vs. Rear Mount for DD/towing

I need some opinions based on personal experience and where better to find it than here...

First off, I am a college student and this is my daily transportation. My 5.3 is pretty much stock with 78,XXX miles on it. I tow my bass boat quite often during the summer months, around 4-6 times a week, but very seldom through fall/spring. I also hunt out of the truck so it does see off-road, and I drive dirt roads fairly often when I am home, probably 15% of the time. I am aware of majority of the upgrades that I am going to have to do to the drivetrain and fuel system, which will be the same for either application for the most part.

I have been planning on doing a ProCharger setup for awhile now; I have already bought the mounting bracket/hardware for my truck used, as well as the owners manual and a few other minor things.

Second off, the only way I can afford to do either kit right now is to fab it myself. I will be going the ebay route for all the cold side piping and fmic regardless. I had planned on buying a used P1SC to complete that kit. As far as the rearmount goes, I am pretty experienced with a mig, and have access to a lift, so welding up exhaust parts for the rearmount wont be an issue; I can do all of that myself. The only real thing I will need help with is the tuning.

My questions are:

1. Which one of these kits would you recommend for my application/needs? I am more worried as to how the power will come on different between the two; I often cruise at 85mph/2200-2400rpm on the highway back and fourth from school, so I don't want to be in boost at this level when doing this for 2 hours straight.