FORCED INDUCTION Turbos | Superchargers | Intercoolers | H2O/Meth Injection

Turbo for towing???

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2010, 10:50 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo for towing???

I just bought a Trick hot parts setup with FMIC and 3.5" DP to go on my 5.3 this summer. I have been doing quite a bit of reading and have somewhat decided on a MP T70 for the turbo. My question is, with the .96 a/r housing, how often will I be building boost when towing a load? I pull around 4000lbs for 4-5 highway hours fairly often, and occasionally heavier loads. I realize when I pull a hill or pass that the turbo will spool, but will it be building boost when I'm just cruising around 75mph @ 2300rpm's? What do I need to be aware of when towing for several hours at a time with a turbo? Should I get a different sized turbo to prevent it from spooling in this situation? I have never had any type of boost before so I'm new to this game. Just want to make the best possible decision in choosing which turbo will suit my needs the best. Thanks in advance.
Tyler
Old 04-27-2010, 11:57 PM
I have a gauge for that

Received 391 Likes on 261 Posts

Need to monitor EGTs since its going to get really effin hot if you are towing under boost for that long. Might need to pull timing and richen it up.
Old 04-28-2010, 12:32 AM
TECH Resident

I don't want to be towing under boost. I want to know what I need to do to keep my truck out of boost under these conditions, or if it's even possible. If it means getting a T-76 to make it spool later then so be it. Regardless, I don't want my engine under those condition's for hours upon hours at a time. I towed for 12+ hours at 70+mph last weekend for example lol.
Old 04-28-2010, 12:33 AM
GFYS and STFU

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You need to get a tune specific for towing. You'll run some really got EGT's like Atomic said if your not tuned correctly for it.
Old 04-28-2010, 12:35 AM
GFYS and STFU

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts