Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

4L60 Issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2023, 07:47 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 4L60 Issue

So my 02 suburban with a built 4L60 decided to lose 4th gear the other day. Transmission only had 15k miles on it and has had zero issues before. I started my investigation with the 4th gear servo because everything else worked normal. I found the factory washer, clip and sonnax washer broken. I installed a new factory washer and clip along with the factory 4th gear servo. Went for a test drive and everything was back to working just shifted a little softer. I called the shop that built it and also sent my photos to Sonnax and they both said they thought there was a pressure issue. I am no engineer but have been a certified master technician for a long time but specialized in imports for most of my years. I've since changed my career path and gone to working on heavy equipment and big diesel trucks. I like to think things through and what they are saying doesn't make any sense to me. I would have thought that an increase in pressure would have caused some noticeably hard shifting before it broke anything. I just recently cleaned out the Sonnax servo and reinstalled it with a new washer. Transmission is back to shifting like it did when it was new. So my question is what could have caused this kind of damage without making the trans shift hard? I literally just left for work one day and it didn't shift into OD. It was fine on my way home the night before. I've built several manual transmissions but don't really do much with autos. I knew enough to know that if 2nd and 3rd were fine that the band and 3-4 clutch pack should have been fine. My best guess with the limited amount I know of how this works is that the Sonnax servo has 2 pistons inside and if one got stuck it could have broken the washers the way it did. At this point I'm just try