Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

6 inch rear drop on a 4wd how?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2006, 11:31 AM
Tin Foil Hat Wearin' Fool

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 6 inch rear drop on a 4wd how?

I was looking at the way my new tires and wheels sit onmy truck and it needs to come down about 6 inches for me to be happy. I dont want aftermarket springs cause I want full towing and weight carrying capacity. I can remove the lift blocks and put shackles on for 4 inches but how can I achieve the extra inch or two. The rear end is going to come up some too when I put a roll pan on and if I ditch the rear hitch but I carry a 4 wheeler and hunting gear. Im a noob to dropping a truck thought I would never do it to my 4wd but I think I should a suspension under the truck that can handle the power Im going to be putting out. Later on this truck will be on 40's but for now Im going for the fast theme.
Old 01-04-2006, 01:02 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Slow.. post some pics of your new wheels, yeah you going to have one hell of hunting truck whe you get threw...
Old 01-04-2006, 02:37 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The rear setup on the 2wd and 4wd are the same, so all the components will work. If you want 6" from factory, do like you said and take the blocks out, put some shackles on, and then get some hangers for the front of the leaf spring. This should give you around 6".

What are your plans for the front? I know you can get keys to lower the front down like 2-3" and I thought I saw someone post something about lower control arms for 2-3" drop.
Old 01-04-2006, 02:44 PM
12 Second Truck Club

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts