Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

ABS considerations on Ring & Pinion swap

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2009, 02:37 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ABS considerations on Ring & Pinion swap

Hey everybody.

I have a 1991 GMC Sierra 1/2 ton, 2wd and it has ABS, not sure if it's 2 or 4 wheel though. Do I need to make any special considerations when choosing a Ring & Pinion set for my 10 bolt rear end? As I understand, any 10 bolt, 30 spline gear set will work with mine. I'm wanting between a 3.73:1-4.56:1 with a locker if anybody is near Statesboro, GA I'll buy yours at a reasonable price. If I have some mechanical experience, but not an expert, do you think I could swap my gear set by myself if I've never done it before? I know it's a little involved...

I looked on autozone.com for some ABS sensors, but couldn't find any. Anybody know more about the brake system on my truck? Any good places out there to read about chevy truck brakes? Any suggestions on how I might be able to get some rear wheel disc brakes for less than $500? Also, I want to know more about whether or not I can mix and match, such as using a heavy duty brake booster on a truck that doesn't have heavy duty brakes, etc. There doesn't seem to be much talk about brakes.

Thanks
Old 04-08-2009, 04:45 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I dont know anything about your ABS system.