Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

Auto-trac chain replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2006, 10:09 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Auto-trac chain replacement?

I have a loud noise coming from under the truck, I notice it when putting the truck in gear. Not a clunk from say the u-joints but more of a metallic *tink* sound.
Under acceleration it makes more of a rotational *tink tink tink* noise in first and under light throttle in second gear. Gets faster as I accelerate.I am wondering first of all if the front driveshaft turns when in 2hi and if this could possibly be a loose chain or broken gear in the transfer case.
This has been going on for over a week. I have no knowledge of how the auto-trac works, but was thinking if the chain in the transfer case was worn and loose the noise could be the chain skipping (if it even turns while in 2hi).
Sorry for the long post, but I am hoping for some good info so I can fix this. I have another thread going in General Discussion, but hoping to get more over here. Thanks, Ron
Old 01-01-2007, 01:14 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Little bit confused. You mention being in 2 hi but your sig says an SS and your name is Ron 5.3. An SS is AWD and don't come with 5.3's?

Doesn't look like power is applied to the front unless in 4wd. You can see the shift fork that locks the front output shaft.

Not saying that the transfer case isn't making the noise but I've been on numerous boards for couple years and read thousands of posts. I have never read of anybody ever damaging one of these transfer cases.

Old 01-01-2007, 01:26 AM
On The Tree

Ah, the SS is referring to an 02 Camaro SS, I was posting about my suburban....Sorry for the confusion. So would that fork pictured (when engaged) cause the chain and front d-shaft to turn or does the chain turn all the time?