Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

Downshifting an automatic?????

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2006, 08:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Downshifting an automatic?????

Hi, I have an 01 1500HD with the 6.0 / 4L80-E.

I am a landscape contractor and I normally haul up to 2 tonns in the bed. I know this is overloaded but ... but... meh it does the job.

My question is- Does downshifting an automatic to slow down the vehicle and save on the brake while hauling heavy payloads hard on the tranny? Will it lead to premature transmision wear? My auto teacher used to tell me absolutly not but my dad says it is hard on the tranny and a few other people have told me the same. I just hate replacing brakes.
Old 08-18-2006, 09:02 PM
High on diesel fumes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

It's hard on the clutches in the tranny to slow that thing down, especially fully loaded. When you select a lower gear the tranny drags the engine RPM up, and all the time between when the revs start to increase to when they stop is time that the clutches are slipping. I used to downshift my 4L60E cause I like how the exhaust sounded, then it burnt the 2-4 band. Use the brakes IMO.
Old 08-18-2006, 09:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

yeah thatll kill a tranny dude. your riding those clutches. same way in a stick shift. you ride those gears it WILL lead a faliure someday.
Old 08-18-2006, 09:06 PM
11 sec. Truck Mod

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

use the brakes bro! cheaper and easier to replace IMO. Also Dont do headers with your future Turbo install, they dont hold the heat like the stock manifolds do and turbos like heat.
Old 08-18-2006, 09:08 PM
Mr. Obvious

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

in my truck its a v6 but still...
i will drop it down to sloww down or to get it in first at a redlight
Old 08-18-2006, 09:25 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by TIM Z