Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

lets talk a lil bout air bag suspension

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2006, 10:49 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lets talk a lil bout air bag suspension

I want to get air bags on my truck, it sound stupid but its what i want 00 silverado Z71 yes its 4x4. I know they make air bag front kits for 4x4 but there are so many for the back. i think i want a bolt on system just b/c of the simplicity. but should i get cantilever or not. i have a body kit im putting on so i dont need it to lay frame, but i want it to look like i am, body kit is like 6 inches so if i can slam it down to the body kit ill be happy.

and talk about air suspension good,bad,ugly dont matter im new to it and trying to learn something. like how the whole thing works and what you need, is a kit better than buying each piece separate, exc.
Old 02-23-2006, 11:39 AM
Hunt&Fisherator

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

I have a parts list for you... the tortion bar fromt suspension and CV angles will be your biggest challenge.. I researched this thoroughly when I was planning on bagging mine... since then I have changed direction on i and I want it faster..

Here is what I came up with for your trucks air ride system.
Front Bags
Front Bag Cups
Rear Bags
6 Gallon Tank
Viair Compressor
2 Dual Needle Guages
Pressure Switch
8 3/8” Valves
9 Switch Polished Controller
4 Link With Canteliever
Frame Notch
Front Shock Relocaters
75’ 3/8” Line
40’ 1/8” Line
Front Shocks
Fittings

-keep in mind that this was my parts list for a 2WD.... it will be different up front for you but the back will be the exact same. You can figure on spending $3000+ on it though... and thats going to be the absolute minimum. most people I have seen lose their front wheel drive completely and take out the diff and put 2wd control arms on it... let me know if you have any more Q's...