Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

rear flip, spring questions?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2008, 06:16 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rear flip, spring questions?

Looking at dropping the truck about 5-6 inches in the rear. I would like to keep the ride and towing capacity as close to stock as possible. What are the pros and cons of flip kits compared to staying over the axle with lowering springs,shackles,hangers,ect.? I think I want to stay over the axle, but I'm not experienced with flip kits and may be wrong. Its a 4x4 if it matters but dont have any clearence worries cause it never leaves the pavement.
Old 02-05-2008, 07:27 AM
Launching!

You could do the flip. plan on 4-6 inches of drop. also plan on doing some welding if they dont have a kit that will use your old spring pads.
Old 02-05-2008, 10:49 AM
TECH Regular

Can you get the front to go down 4" to match the rear? I have never dropped a 4x4.
Old 02-05-2008, 04:40 PM
TECH Resident

i dont really see any big difference. with the notch, mine rides essentially the same. i havent towed anything with it since then but i wouldnt be the least bit afraid to do so. nick (GMRacer) used to have his truck (4x4) lowered. Look up some of the things he did.
Old 02-06-2008, 04:16 AM
On The Tree

I was thinking of a 3-5 drop. spindles, then crank the t-bars down a little for the front. as far as the back goes, you dont need a c-notch on the nnbs till 7 inches from what Ive read on here. I just cant decide which set up would be best for me in the back. I THINK the back 5 can be achieved by shackles, removal of the lifting block, and new springs by staying over the axle, or a flip kit. I would like to know if there would be an advantage to over or under.
Old 02-06-2008, 10:26 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by 4.8bowtie