Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

Rebuilding a 4L60, help me out

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2010, 09:44 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rebuilding a 4L60, help me out

Ok, long story short my trans is slipping in 2nd and 3rd, and bad when its hot. So I am looking in to rebuilding as opposed to a used 60 or even an 80e swap. So hit me, what do I need? clutches, servos? valve body? Just looking for a basic rebuild and making it a little stronger. At most the truck will only see cam/stall and maybe a posi. Got other plans for a project

looking to do it all myself or with someone local who has some know how. Open to all suggestions and help, thanks guys
Old 07-11-2010, 09:50 PM
TECH Senior Member

I'm no expert, this is just my opinion. You def. don't need a valve body. Granted I have about as much **** as u can throw at a 60E as u can get, but I was wondering how versed w/. tranny rebuilding u are? I mean no offense.

If I were to do: clutches, steels, servos, & ... IIRC, it's the accumulator that is made of plastic, get the alum. version. Do a shift kit.

I know it was awhile ago, but look up the rock. He did a rebuild using Sonnax stuff. He was very happy cause he wanted a refined shift not a bang your head against headrest. Again, my memory is a bit fuzzy, just search his posts.

Oh ya, if doin stall, add a cooler. IDK if ya tow or not, but it's cheap insurance. If ya have a factory cooler, a bigger cooler isn't hard to put in its' place & even a 40K is pretty inexpensive.

Last edited by fastnblu; 07-11-2010 at 10:03 PM.
Old 07-11-2010, 10:09 PM
TECH Junkie

Originally Posted by fastnblu
I'm no expert, this is just my opinion. You def. don't need a valve body. Granted I have about as much **** as u can throw at a 60E as u can get, but I was wondering how versed w/. tranny rebuilding u are? I mean no offense.