Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

Is there a TCM or something like it on my truck?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2009, 06:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is there a TCM or something like it on my truck?

Its a 2003 GMC with a 4.8 and a 4l60e. New rebuilt transmission and i still dont have first gear. Has new elecrtonic throttle control (200) trans guy said he thought it was like a kickdown cable...and it wanst. It has a new computer (200) trans guy thought the comp was messed up. Ive been driving this truck for the last 6 months without first in it and the trans guy is just now getting around to rebuilding me another trans.
Old 03-27-2009, 07:56 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Not sure exactly what you're asking, but I think your truck is equipped with a drve-by-wire throttle body, which means it's controlled by a sensor, no wire or cable. I think it's on the 03's(?).
As for the TCM, I don't know if you have one, but I believe the tranny is controlled by the PCM. I know some of the new GMC's have a TCM, but I don't know what year they started. I know my 04 Chevy uses the PCM to control that transmission.
So any adjustments for the tranny would be made through that.

Kinda odd that you don't have first gear... Have you taken into the dealer, or do you know anyone with programming software that can check for you? Does the truck run fine, otherwise? Not sure if it's in limp mode, or something....
I know the tranny won't last long taking off in second all the time.
Old 03-27-2009, 08:28 PM
Teching In