Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

01' LQ4 Engine build

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2010, 12:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 01' LQ4 Engine build

Hello, I am new to this site and am looking for info on building up an engine. I have an 01' LQ4 that is my daily driver with 120,000 miles on it and has now suddenly lost oil pressure. There is debris in the oil from the pan so the motor will be getting to removed to investigate further and i see this an as oppurtunity to upgrade. My problem is though, i do not know enough about the difference in gains from one cam to the next and different head profiles that would work together. And on that note, is this block worth modifying in the first place or is it not designed for higher performance seen in more exotic 6.0Ls? Again i am new to understanding the differences in engine blocks (lq9, ly6, ls1) and what parts are interchangeable between them. SO after all that, my question is this: What would you guys recommend for combinations of parts that work well together with proven results??? I am not looking to build a chromed up race engine, but a solid "budget" engine with proven performance that can still be daily driven? I dont know if that is like asking to have the cake and eat it too, but any advice or info would be greatly appreciated, as the shops in town have been troublesome. As far as they are concerned the motor has no oil pressure, therefore it is blown and should be exchanged for a new one. Problem is they want $7500 Can. for a new engine (before labour) and i dont see that as a viable option. I believe that a lot of parts and tools can be bought for my engine for that amount. The engine has also had synthetic fluids run through it its entire life so i believe it is worth spending the money on. Again, any info is appreciated.
Old 09-11-2010, 02:08 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post