Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

12-18 month plan...input please

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2006, 11:25 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 12-18 month plan...input please

I have 12 more months on my TBSS lease and am thinking about what I want to do next. The reason I did a lease was so I would simply leave the vehicle alone. The plan has worked out great. I don't even have a tune, it is 100% stock. But, by the time the lease is up, I'll be ready to play again.

What I liked about my Avalanche (5800 lbs) when I first put the Radix on was the 19.7 MPG on the freeway. Boy do I miss those days. Now, if I get 13 MPG in the TBSS (4600 lbs), I'm stoked. Let's just say that that never happens. And I'm not a lead foot by a long shot, I'm a pretty sedate driver.

Displacement is the main issue, it appears. The Silverado SS guys never talk about mileage because there's just nothing good to talk about there. So it seems that six liters is just piggy, whether you're talking LQ4, LQ9, or LS2. All that displacement just eats the gas.

So back to my idea. I am thinking about getting a 2004-2006 Tahoe with the 5.3L (same motor I had in my AV), putting in some forged internals, slapping on the best roots/screw blower at the time (Kenne Bell 2.8L? Magnuson TVS? MP122? Whipple 3.3L?), and running with it.

Option 2 is to bore the stock iron block out to 5.7L and make a stout, 350ci, iron-block, forged motor to receive the aforementioned blower. What I don't know is what that extra 25ci will do for me, if anything. Whether my goals would just be better served sticking with the 5.3L, 325ci stock block.

Some people like to go Mach 2 with their hair on fire, some people like to street race...my obsession is to have a quiet, daily driver SUV that has perfect street manners and gets great mileage, but when you stomp on it, all hell breaks loose.

Any comments, ideas or input?