Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

1969 Chevy Nova with 12558062 cast 98 Vortec 5.7L build

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2021, 11:43 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1969 Chevy Nova with 12558062 cast 98 Vortec 5.7L build

Hey guys, new to the forum.
I bought a 69 Nova from a guy that dropped a 98 Chevy Vortec 5.7L with an automatic trans in it. I know this is a truck forum, so I'm hoping to get some advise on the truck engine he installed. I'm also new at engine building and this will be my very first engine job, so please give it to me in the lowest common denominator.

So far, I got new MSD ignition Distributor, 6AL 2, Blaster coil, Hooker headers, 2116 edelbrock manifold, 1406 edelbrock 600 CFM carb and that's about it. Have an aluminum radiator with dual fans standing by, before I decide to drop in the cam.

After the engine started running a little sluggish, I thought it needed a valve adjustment. Valves we're good and didn't need adjusting. Figured while I'm there, I'll pull the heads and replace the gaskets, clean up and inspect the heads and lower. Found out one of the push rods was bent.

Where I'm at:
Wanted to upgrade the cam (possibly LT4 or something comparable in HP gains), springs (beehive), push rods, and lifters. I just took the heads to have inspected for cracks, pressure tested, have the valve seats redone, and honed/ decked ( sorry forgot which is which). Found out from the engine guy, that's they already bored it out .30 over.