Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

2001 Silverado - Motor Swap Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2010, 05:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Silverado - Motor Swap Advice Needed

Hi Guys,

I have been linguring around the site for a while now, reading up on all your guys' posts and learning everything I can, but I need some good solid advice. Let start by also adding, that I am still learning alot of the achronyms, so try not to confuse me to bad in your replies.

I have a 2001 Silverado:
- 4.3L
- 4l60E Auto (just rebuilt)
- 10 bolt rearend (just rebuilt with 373 gears)
- 2 Door

I am getting a little bored with the 4.3L and want to get some power under the hood. I have always wanted to do it, but now a friend is hassling me for my motor for a 4x4 build he is doing (hense motivating me).

I have been reading all kinds of threads (this site and others) about people swapping out the 4.3, 4.8 and 5.3L for 6.0L and 6.2L etc. And it just doesnt appeal to me that much at the molement. What I would really like to do is the swap to a nice carb motor. Here is where I would like some input and the questions start.

- I have done searches on here, but cant find any good threads on people doing a FI to Carb swap. Are there any on here that you could link me to?

- I have really been leaning towards a 383 to replace my current 4.3L. Are there any dis-advantages to this motor, or would you recommend a different motor for the swap? If so, I would like to obtain a solid 400 - 450 HP.

- I have done a fair amount of searching on the net for crate motor's, but was wondering if anyone highly recommends one company over the others?

- Will my current 4L60e bolt up to a carb motor? Long term plans include switching to a 700R4, but is it possible to use my current tranny for the time being?