Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

5.3 LM7 S10 Build Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2024, 12:17 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3 LM7 S10 Build Questions

What's up everyone.

I've been a lurker for a while and decided it was time for my first post.

I'm building a 1985 S10 with a 5.3 LM7 with a 4L60e transmission. I'm looking to build a fun little street truck that I can daily if I want, nothing crazy! I'm new to the LS platform so I've been doing a ton of reading and research and I'm starting to dive myself crazy!

The 5.3 I got is supposed to be less than 90k miles, but I seriously doubt that. For that reason I'm going through the entire motor and going to freshen it up with new bearings, and rings.

My plans for the build is:
TBSS Intake
90mm TB
LS3 Timing Gears
LS7 Lifters
LS9 Head Gasket

Does that seem like a decent parts list?

Where I'm having trouble decided is which cam to go with. I want a cam that will give me a nice choppy idle, but I don't want it to be a turd down low. I've been eyeing the TSP Chopacabra, the BTR Truck Norris, or a Summit Pro LS cam. I'm going to be reusing my 862 heads with some aftermarket springs.

What cam would yall recommend going with, even if it's not one I listed?
Old 03-11-2024, 01:35 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 1,276 Likes on 973 Posts

I would skip the intake and TB and put that money into some better heads. I also would do just a regular GM head gasket.
Be cautious on the LS7 lifters. They aren't real GM and are reproductions. Someone on LS1Tech is apparently selling a lot of NOS lifters though, don't know if it real.

I would do something like a 21x/21x or a 20x/21x cam.
Old 03-11-2024, 06:51 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 157 Likes on 128 Posts

90% of what you listed is just useless buzzzzzwords that won't do a damn thing for what you're talking about.