Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Firehawk INDY 500 tires?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2004, 02:59 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Firehawk INDY 500 tires?

Hi all, I have been reading the forums for a week or so now and you guys are great and have tons on information.

I bought a 99 chevy regular cab stepside 2wd with a factory 5.3 last feburary. I love this truck, I went from driving a 84 chevy silverado with a 350 and a 700r and my new truck would kill my old one. But i have a problem with traction. I can be doing 30 and nail it and the tires will break lose. I love it but the cops wont if the catch me. also i cant even give it 3/4 gas from a dead stop or the tires will spin.

I am needing new tires soon and have been looking around for something that isnt outragously priced. I am a college student so I am always broke. I was looking around and saw someone with the same question and a couple people mentioned the toyo 265/70/16 or 275/60/16 but i cant afford them and the closest dealer is almost 100 miles away.

I was wondering if anyone is using or has used the Firehawk INDY 500s. If so please tell me what you thought and if tractions was greatly improved over the stock 255/70/16 generals i have now.

Here is a link to the tires. and price is very good for me.
Firehawk INDY 500
Old 07-18-2004, 06:56 PM
Truck addict

they don't look that bad to me. i am in the market for some tires as well. I currently have 50K on my bridgestone dueler A/T. great tire, but not what i wanted in looks. need something a little more in tune with performance. the price on these is nice as well.
i was looking at the 265 or 275 cant remember 70 16 kumho ecsta stx. they look real nice but they cost about 100 each.
Old 07-18-2004, 07:29 PM
Staging Lane