Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Header Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2013, 04:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Header Question

Yes I am a noob and I did look around for an answer to what may seem like a simple question for some but I wanted to see what you guys thoughts were to my particular situation.

So here it goes: My build will be 100% budget based with highway fuel economy a must and a little more power when needed. All I'm shooting for is a Volant CAI, Dynomax VT cat-back, long tubes, a tune once that's all in, and 2/4 drop. (2013 GMC Sierra Crew w/ 5.3)

Sounds pretty simple but the headers have me questioning if they're worth the money and the effort. If I did go the long tube route, it would either be OBX or LPP due to how inexpensive they are. So if I did want to keep it somewhat street legal, how to I implement the high flow cats? Or should I go with shorty headers? Will I have any issues with a check engine light? That's really my biggest question....I don't want to hastle with having to find someone to hook me up with an inspection sticker or worrying about a cop pulling me over and checking for cats. Been there, done that, and don't feel like dealing with it again.

So I appreciate any suggestions. I am new to the site and so far you guys have been great. Thank you....
Old 06-25-2013, 07:12 PM
TECH Enthusiast

go with shortys and a tune forbudget and mileage. my 2012 had 3 converters on it. i lost the third one and went with kooks longtubes with catted y pipe.
Old 06-26-2013, 08:42 AM

Originally Posted by craigsix
go with shortys and a tune forbudget and mileage. my 2012 had 3 converters on it. i lost the third one and went with kooks longtubes with catted y pipe.