Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Installing Addtional driving lights. Anything I should know?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2009, 04:56 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing Addtional driving lights. Anything I should know?

Hey guys, I'm planning on installing additional lighting around the truck for off-road, loading and working in the dark purposes. These questions may seem basic for some, but I'm not experienced with creating new circuitry. I'll be using a seperate mini fusebox I pulled from an old car and illuminated switches to complete the setup. I thought it was simple at first but now I'm realizing that this may be a bit more difficult than previously imagined.

All lights are rated at 12 volts but, how can I figure out what amperage will be needed for each light? I need to make sure I'm selecting the right fuses and the right switches to perform this. And how cn I control that amperage?

thanks
Old 03-25-2009, 04:58 PM
Wearin' da big hat

Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts

Get a fire extinguisher. Not that it will help too much with an electrical fire, but still, get one.
Old 03-25-2009, 05:11 PM
On The Tree

Well, come on, i'm not an idiot either. I know what kind of cable I'll need, the worst that can happen is end up with a wad of blown fuses.
Old 03-26-2009, 11:30 AM
PT's Slowest Truck

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts