Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

LQ4/9 Performance Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2005, 07:42 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4/9 Performance Questions

I'm seriously planning out doing a LQ4/LQ9 swap into my '88 Trans Am. I've already done the LT1/T56 swap, but I'm thinking that it won't be reliable enough. I'm a tech at a Dealership, so I see these trucks everyday and know them better than the LT1. I've got a few (edit: a lot) of questions about these motors. So if there's a good site I can go check out lost os specs and comparos on them let me know.
1) First off...will an LQ4/LQ9 bolt up to my current '96 T56, providing I get a bellhousing from an LS1 T56?
2) I heard the LQ4 has dished pistons and aluminum heads after '02. I'm leaning towards the LQ4 for it's lower compression because I'd like to Supercharge it later down the road. Is there a company that makes a S'Charger setup like the old school Roots Style Blowers? I've seen this setup on Y and F-Bodies. I think it's Magnacharger..??
3) Would most LS1 aftermarket performance parts fit on an LQ4/9? If so which ones?
4) Would it be worth it to buy an LQ4/9 used? I've looked at GmPartsDirect.om and they're only around 4 grand shipped...that's before my Gm discount.
5) Is there a strocker package for these motors?
The reason I'm looking into the truck 6.0 as opposed to the aluminum LS1/2 is because it's cheaper, and you can do more machining (if the time comes) on an iron block versus aluminum.
Like I said, I'd appreciate any and all input! Truck guys seem to be more open and helpful than 4th gen F-Body guys for some reason.
Old 03-28-2005, 08:11 PM
Admin

Received 217 Likes on 173 Posts

1. As far as the T56 goes, I believe it will bolt up no prob with with LS1 bellhousing.