Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

More electric cooling fan questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2003, 09:25 PM
Tech Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default More electric cooling fan questions

Well it looks like my only option for an electric fan is either an LS1 twin fan or Flex a lite 295 fan.

I am planning to go with the 295 BUT I have a few questions.

The Flex a lite page says this fan comes with an adjustable switch from 180 degrees and up. If I have a 160 degree thermostat what would I do?

Is there ANY way to control the fan with my Predator or is this unnecessary?

Last question is, does any one have pics of this 295 fan after it's installed?

Thanks for any info
Old 05-30-2003, 09:41 PM
TECH Junkie

Default Re: More electric cooling fan questions

I bought 2-14" Hayden fans at Autozone for less than $150. At Pep Boys they have an adjustable thermostat that comes with all wire and connectors. It adjusts from 32-245 degrees, so you can set it to come on anywhere in between.
Old 05-30-2003, 09:43 PM
TECH Junkie

O-yea, the thermostat costs $29.
Old 05-30-2003, 09:50 PM
Tech Fanatic

Hey thanks for the info!

I actually just found ANOTHER fan kit that will work from Summit. Its a Perma Cool dual fan setup. I have seen pics of this fan and it looks really nice.
Up until now it looked like Flex a lite was the only manufacturer of fan setups for smaller radiator trucks.
The perma cool fan is $200 MORE than the Flex a lite though. The perma cool does have a slick looking aluminum shroud and fans that supposedly bolt right into stock mounting holes, no cutting or anything.

I just wonder about the heat absorbtion of the Perma cool's aluminum shroud and fan blades. I know the Flex a lite fans have plastic blades and shrouds though.