Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

which muffler to get?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2006, 02:32 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default which muffler to get?

OK, I am getting my new exhaust soon and was wondering which muffler to get. I have the 5.3 w/ a whipple s/c, Jba headers, and other mods. Right now i have a 40 series Flowmaster 3" inlet and dual 2.5" outlets. it doesn't sound to bad but i have heard alot of the guys on here say they don't give you the HP you should get from a high flow muffler or the sound.
I have heard alot about the Magnaflow and corsa mufflers but don't know what to look for when Muffler shopping.
If you could tell me the brand and model that you prefer and why it is better than others that would be great. Thanks
Old 10-18-2006, 02:46 PM
Staging Lane

magnaflow. they are considered a straight-through muffler.
Old 10-18-2006, 02:54 PM
Hunt&Fisherator

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

single in, single out 3" magnaflow... they sound VERY nice and you'll see a definite increase over the flow-pooper
Old 10-18-2006, 04:04 PM
On The Tree

is this it?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/MAGNA...40458089QQrdZ1

I see alot of the guys are running the y pipe also, is this the one to get? I don't know if i need 3" into dual 3". Or 3" into dual 2.5".
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/10798...38135293QQrdZ1
Old 10-18-2006, 04:15 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Default Fyi

FYI - https://www.performancetrucks.net/fo...ight=cool+test

I personally think the majority of the Flowmaster haters on this board are simply regurgitating what other people have said. Having said that, aerochambers sound good, as do IMCO mufflers.
Old 10-21-2006, 11:28 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by Frito Bandito
FYI - https://www.performancetrucks.net/fo...ight=cool+test