Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Superchips, Hypertech, Etc.

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2005, 09:15 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Superchips, Hypertech, Etc.

I've done some searching on the site and can't come up with anything conclusive, so hopefully those out there using the portable programmers can give me a heads up here. I'm fairly new to GM's ODBII truck setups, have spent years learning ODB I programming on some of my 4 cylinder race cars, So I know there are 'real' programmers out there that will provide very solid gains and also there are many gimmicks out there that just aren't worth the plastic they're made from.

So i'm looking for some opinions from those out there who have used the programmers from Superchips, Hypertech, and the like. Basically how you like the unit and whether you've had any solid gains from them and if you ran into any reliability issues or problems.

-J
Old 03-30-2005, 09:19 PM
TECH Fanatic

WIth my hypertech that i had, i got 4 tenths in the quarter. I think that was not actual horsepower, but because of the higher shift points and rev limiter.
Old 03-30-2005, 09:20 PM
TECH Fanatic

its just a quick little fix for lightly modded trucks. if ur planning on doing heavy modding like cam or s/c then just hold off for a custom tune. but if ur planning on just doing the basics, then any will work fine. u can find a hypertech for like 150 on here probably. as far as gains... its not so much the hp ur gaining, its more about the shiftpoints. it makes u stay in each gear longer and whined it out. it also advances ur timing so u can use 91 gas if u want
Old 03-30-2005, 09:43 PM
On The Tree