Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Wake up-5.3

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2006, 11:02 AM
CNE
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wake up-5.3

I have been a GM tech for 18 years but never dealt with performance. The places I worked always steered away from the aftermarket world. I never really kept up with HP numbers and specs. I always just fixed what they came in for. I have a 2001 1500 2wd with the 5.3 and I would like to really wake this thing up without driveability problems. Maybe a cam, lifters, springs, heads, intake, supercharger, etc. Does anyone have a package available that works well together that can be purchased and installed. I have a spare 5.3 so I can build it then swap it in. Would I be better off just putting a supercharger or turbo on? I had a C6 in a couple of weeks ago that another facility did some major mods to ;cam, heads, intake, etc. and the lady brought it to the dealer because it idled too high and unstable. The thing was cammed to death and had less than 10 in vacuum that caused the MAP sensor to peg out richening the fuel sky high. They did all this with the stock program in the PCM. I told them the first thing to try was a custom program. I don't know how it turned out. I don't want to end up with problems like this. I also live in NC and have to pass OBDII inspection which means all sensors and cat must be in place and functioning properly with no SES light. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mack.
Old 05-27-2006, 11:25 AM
v8
17,16,15,14,13,12,11 Drvr

as you can see in my sig my times from the track, this truck started out at 15.56

look at Nelson performance for tuneing,stall,gears,headers,intake,exhaust,cam,ele ct. fans,underdrive pulley, built trans for all this, bigger or ported t/b.
Old 05-27-2006, 11:42 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts