Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

want input for best cam 2003 4.8 silverado

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2010, 12:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default want input for best cam 2003 4.8 silverado

ok here is what i have
2003 extended cab silverado 4x4
new rear end 3:73 gears
new transfer case
fresh built 4l60e said to hold up to 600 hp not sure but build was 1550bucks with me removing installing included new stall supposedly 400 rpms higher than stock and does have 12 month unlimited mileage warranty for racing/off-roading
brand new exhaust from manifolds to tailpipe all magnaflow including cats
all new sensors and new stock intake and intake ports cleaned and polished not ported
and electric fans this week
i have read stock ls6 swap is good but i havent messed with many ls engines
i am a mechanic so i can do all the work thus have so far since this truck has nickle and dimed me to death since i bought it 3 weeks ago and have spent a tad over 5k in trans , transfer case,rearend and exhaust,sensors etc
what i want to accomplish is a little more top end power as well as retain stock low end and would prefer more power through the whole rpm range
it is fairly strong now 1st 2nd and then at 70 when it shifts to 3rd its falls flat on its nose.
this will be an everyday driver with stock tires so i dont want and erratic cam
and i would prefer not to need to get the truck tuned i would like just to add a little power and retain drivabilty
Old 10-13-2010, 08:43 AM
TECH Enthusiast

A good tune is the most important thing you could do for your truck.
Old 10-13-2010, 09:16 AM
TECH Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts