Notices
GMT 800 & Older GM General Discussion 2006 & Older Trucks | General Discussion

Buying truck questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2011, 09:40 AM
12 Second Club

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Buying truck questions

Ok, I'm a newb to trucks & openly admit it. Last night I went to look at a 1997 Silverado Z71. The guy only wants $3k flat for it, its got 211k miles. Everything seemed to work properly including the push button transfer from 2-4wd. Its a little ruff like youd expect from a 97' model with 211k miles, got some scratches & dings but no big dents I'd consider "bad", hazed headlights, chipped corner lenses & the chrome on the grill is doin a funky bubbling thing like its separating from the plastic. I figure all this is just cosmetic & can be fixed cheaply.

Truck seemed to idle super quiet, smooth, no leaks under the truck, no seeping valve cover gaskets or anything up top. It started first turn of the key several times in a row. I let it idle for about 15 minutes & if the stock temp gauge is correct it held temp perfectly. Throttle response seems spot on, guy said he just put a new dist, plugs & wires in it.

Is there anything I should go look over again? I want to check this truck out really good. $3k is my ceiling for what I can spend so I'm not expecting a awsome truck but I dont want to be fooled into a turd either. The guy I work with has a 93' Z71 & he told me to put it in 4hi & hold the brake to see if it'll pull through the brakes without making any grinding noise to check the 4wd, is this a correct way to check it? I havent test drove it yet as I got there right before he closed & had no cash on me. But I do plan to go back & test drive it of course.