Notices
GMT 800 & Older GM General Discussion 2006 & Older Trucks | General Discussion

New guy with a problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2005, 03:40 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy with a problem

Hi everyone, I finally joined today after about a year of lurking. I own a pewter 2001 Silverado RCSB 4.8 w/ approx. 118,000mi, all stock performance-wise except for a flowmaster catback system. I am a student @ UAB with my major being mechanical engineering so money for mods is very sparingly. I decided, after seeing the great tech. knowledge here this would be the perfect place to get help. After I couldn't find what I wanted using the search I decided to register in order to get help.(selfish I know)

About a month ago I was speeding up in the on ramp to get on the interstate. I was getting on the interstate and there was no one around so I decide to stomp on the pedal @ about 50mph and the truck took off. After I punched it and carried the rpm's over to about 5k I heard a rattling noise coming from the engine compartment and this is still the problem that ails my truck now. When I take the truck to above 5k rpm's to however high the stock programming will allow it to go the truck rattles and the SERVICE ENGINE SOON light starts blinking on and off. I took it by advance auto parts and had them check the diagnistic port and it showed a P0302 or a cylinder 2 misfire detected. Since then I have changed the plugs and wires thinking it was something wrong with the ignition system but the same trouble code appeared (P0302). I took the valve covers off, took out the push rods checked them, they were straight and the holes in the middle weren't blocked. so now here I am at a loss and I don't know whats wrong with my baby. any suggestions or thoughts are greatly appreciated.
Old 06-15-2005, 03:52 PM

Received 226 Likes on 150 Posts

could be a bad coil pack or nasty injector???
Old 06-15-2005, 03:53 PM
TECH Fanatic