INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

Which cam for mpg 95

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2014, 02:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which cam for mpg 95

Guys I'm a noob so bare with me on this. just trying to learn like the rest of us.

So I'm looking for overall performance but I'm far more concerned with getting better fuel efficiency with minimal costs and engine mods. I'm not trying to do any swaps or anything crazy. I just want to get the best out of what I've got.

With that said, I drive a 1995 Chevy Tahoe 1500 LT 4x4 w/ 208,XXX miles. no mods or anything. just the 'lid flip' on the air filter. But lets pretend I've done a thorough tune up (trany fluid and coolant flush, oil filter & oil, fuel filter/pump/lines/injectors, air filter, plugs and wires, distro cap, check the egr valve/solenoid, check the coolant temp sensor....anything else?)

Which camshaft would best suit my tahoe with MPG in mind? and which -if any- component parts will I need? I read somewhere that with a dual pattern shaft you need new heads, lifters, springs etc. if this is correct I would rather stick to the single pattern.... so if I go the single pattern route, will I need anything other than the shaft itself? I plan to get new headers regardless of the camshaft, and am leaning towards shorty headers. 1) for the ease of installation and 2) for the low end power since I'm not racing.

If I'm way off with anything or missing stuff (im sure im missing stuff) please let me know. Thanks in advance for any advice. It is greatly appreciated.
Old 02-13-2014, 10:37 PM
TECH Resident

Stick a ls in it if u want mpg. They have sequential fuel injection. The throttle body injectors is what's killing you and the tuning. Don't waste money. Get a 4.8 ls engine in there and make more power with better mpg. IMO
Old 03-04-2014, 07:58 PM
Teching In