INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

Modding my first LQ4

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2011, 09:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Modding my first LQ4

Hi guys. I got a LQ4 from a 2001 Silverado. Its going to be dropped into a 2000 Silverado 1500. My goal is about 450 HP. I have $2,000 to spend on mods. My dad is the old redneck type, and he told me im wasting my money that these are trashy engines and i can't do anything with $2,000 and i would love more than anything to shut him up. i KNOW these 6.0's have tons of potential and im looking to wake it up. He has an 08 Charger SRT and im looking to beat that with my truck.

You guys are better than me as i barely know anything. But here are some mods i was looking at. If you guys have a better way, please tell me cause im new to this.

1) Keep the stock heads and get a Z06 Cam, or L92 heads with a custom grind cam.
2) LS3 or LS6 Intake Manifold
3) Pacesetter LT's
4) Custom Tune

Later on this truck will run boost. If that makes a difference in all of that ^

I already have a shift kit and torque converter and my next step will be to get it installed with a new built tranny. cause i heard the 5.3 tranny cant hold up to a 6.0 engine.

Also. He says i need to get forged pistons and all this other jazz or my engine wont last 2k miles. I really dont believe him as he has jewed me in the past.
1) I took my truck with me and i've been customizing that. I had two cars that i left at home. I paid $800 for a 1990 C4 Vette and a $6500 00 WS6. I had a chromed out 383 stroker sitting in our shop. He took the engine and dropped it into my vette and sold it for 4500 -_- then my brother wrecked my trans am (totalled). They never paid me for anything. So yes, they're ******** and i just want something better than them.
Old 10-10-2011, 11:32 AM

Received 61 Likes on 60 Posts