INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

My 03 Denali for massive HP

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2008, 08:12 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 03 Denali for massive HP

Hello everyone, Im new here, I was referred to your forum by boost at http://www.TahoeForum.com.
They have given me a lot of good information and told me to check here for more info.

I have a 2003 Denali with the LQ4 6.0L...I would love to pump out as much power as possible without yet getting into Superchargers and Turbos.

of course, I cant do anything until I get back to California as I am currently deployed in Iraq. But I'd love to push this truck to the limit.

Im not very knowledgeable when it comes to building engines..Im only 20 and have never really dealt with it before..atleast not the internals...(odd because Im a Mechanic for the Army? not a bad one either hahaha)

First off...back in Late 06, my Cat. collapsed in on itself...it was under warranty so I took it to the GM shop and they fixed it...one year and a few weeks later, it did the same...but due to the few extra weeks late, it was no longer covered under the extra 1 year warranty for that part. I then had to buy a high flow cat to drive it from Oklahoma back home to Cali before I left to Iraq. What would cause this?

2nd, I was wondering what heads, cams, all this stuff does for the engine. I've searched through your forums and have found TONS of very excellent topics on them, Im just having a hard time understanding. I would like know get what everyone is talking about, I'd rather not be ignorant if I can do something about it.

I was wondering what would be best for my truck (1/4 mile type)?
would it be possible to bring a stock LQ4 to 500hp+ without some sort of forced induction?

Thank you anyone and everyone who is willing to take their time and try to help me better understand!
Old 11-08-2008, 08:23 AM
2nd fastest 5.3 ECSB

Received 1 Like on 1 Post