INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

Need help for upcoming project

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2012, 09:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help for upcoming project

Ok so after being of 3 different forums and hearing numerous opinions I want yalls help.
Within the next few months I want to go into my motor.
Im not looking for a 9 second truck.
This is my DD and I need to keep it that way.
Im goal is to get into the 13s in the quarter, but still have a truck that i can drive daily dependable.
Im looking into cams, but lost as to where to go for rod, springs, heads and what kind of cam.
I want it to pull good through out the range.
Can anyone point me in the right direction or give me ideas who have a similar set up to what im looking for.
I have a 05 GMC Crew Cab. 5.3 built 4l60e, CAI, tune, 3:73s truetrac on 28" tires.
hate to admit it but i have very little experience with this, this will be the first and last thing i will have installed by someone other than me. Just need to get an idea of what I will need, what works best with what, and get a general idea of the money ill be getting into

Last edited by samuel6731; 01-16-2012 at 10:09 PM.
Old 01-17-2012, 06:33 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If this is your DD and only source of transportaion I would not do anything but a custom tune, ive learned the hard way that when you cause a problem with your DD....it sucks. Last year I had to drive my 3500 Silverado (6.0 Gas) back in forth to work which is a 77 mile round trip for two months while my Avalanche was down.
Old 01-17-2012, 07:34 AM
I have a gauge for that

Received 391 Likes on 261 Posts

If you want dead nuts reliable and something you can install yourself you could get a tvs1900 from magnacharger. If thats not enough you can add a blower cam and exhaust upgrades.
Old 01-17-2012, 12:27 PM
Teching In

Exhaust is done already.
Custom tune isn't just cutting it for me.