INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

should i get rid of the lq9?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 12:41 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default should i get rid of the lq9?

Alright guys heres the deal i got a completly stock engine. I got a procharger sitting in my closet but my question is what should i do with my truck? Should stick with my lq9, build my transmission and install the procharger and go from there or should i save my money and just build a 370 or a 408. My goals are to have a good DD truck while having good times at the track, 12's or maybe even 11's would be fine(but then again most of us are ) Im also new at this performance world so i be learning at the same time. I know basic so im not completly ignorant at it. Ive done alot of searching just cant make up my mind on it. Any comments and suggestions are welcome so feel free to give me ur honest opinion
ZerG
P.S i know u guys get questions like this all the time and might be stupid to some of yall 4 me to ask this but i would really appreciate if yall helped me out
Old 05-03-2007, 01:35 AM

Received 226 Likes on 150 Posts

i would keep the lq9 and procharge it for cheaper and better DD reliability. JMO
Old 05-03-2007, 05:29 AM
TECH Fanatic

I agree, keep the LQ9. It will be a better DD in the long run. Just remember, too, that with these trucks, 12's isn't that hard to acheive, but getting into the 11's is a different story.
Old 05-03-2007, 05:33 AM
formerly silverbrick (changed 02/17/2013)

I agree with these guys. You already have a great motor and if you are going to procharge it there's really no reason to rip it out and pay for an entire replacement rotating assembly etc etc to go with a 408 when your 364 is still plenty good. If it blows up, then go bigger.
Old 05-03-2007, 07:39 AM
Need More N2O Mod