New Members Come in and introduce yourself.

Replace 2008 4.8 with a 2003 6.0 from Savana van?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2021, 04:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replace 2008 4.8 with a 2003 6.0 from Savana van?

The 4.8 is bad. I never liked it anyway, did not work well for towing. I have access to an 03 Savana Van that comes with the ECM, wiring harness, 4L80E trans, engine and trans are complete. My truck is a fly by wire and the van is not so I was going to make the truck fly by cable. My concern is everything else on the truck working with the gen lll wire harness/ECM. I appreciate any and all advice and info that you can share with me. Thank you. by the way I tried to write another thread but I don't know where it is...lol I am new to this and have never posted in on of these before so I have no clue what I'm doing.

Last edited by Bowtie_Slowride; 07-17-2021 at 05:28 PM.
Old 07-17-2021, 05:17 PM
100% Redneck

Received 1,334 Likes on 794 Posts

The title and post is a little confusing but I'll take a crack at the question...

If your truck is a 2008 NNBS it's a GEN4 with a 58X crankshaft reluctor. The 03 GEN3 van has a 24X reluctor so right off you'll have compatibility issues. Lingenfelter makes a 58X engine to a 24X vehicle conversion box but no one makes a 24X engine to a 58X vehicle conversion module. You may be able to get the GEN3 PCM and harness to work with a lot of pin swapping but you'll have no gauges working on the dash.

You said the "4.3" is bad and the title says 4.8... if you have the 4.8 the easiest way would be to have a 58X reluctor pressed on the crank and use your existing harness, PCM, NNBS intake and DBW throttle body. You'll also need to swap the front covers and the and upper timing gear as GEN4 has the cam sensor in the front. The only other way would be to go with an aftermarket PCM and harness like the Terminator X and use their LCD dash for gauges.
Old 07-17-2021, 05:26 PM