PROJECTS GALLERY Vehicle builds | Engine Swaps | Conversions | Installation write ups |

1999 OBS Tahoe LS Swap Turbo Install

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2016, 07:17 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 OBS Tahoe LS Swap Turbo Install

Hey everyone, Im hoping to get some good advice on my turbo build. I'm looking at Trick Performance's Stage 3 Kit. They just released this kit for the OBS trucks a few weeks ago.

A little history on my application:
LS swap into my 1999 2 door 2WD Tahoe in 2015. Engine (6.0) and Trans (6l90 - Auto) out of a 2013 Silverado HD.
Engine Mods.: Comp cam part #189-401-13 (VVT cam) (@.50 - Int. (214) Exh. (228) - 0.559 int./0.571 exh.), 918 duel springs, Stock retangular ports heads (ported & polished)

Truck runs really good and sounds awesome, I’m very pleased with my swap. Ive put on about 1600 miles after swap and would like to do the turbo install.

Im new to turbos and do not know much about them or how to choose the correct size. I just want to choose the correct turbo size for my application and make sure I don’t go to big or to small. These OBS Tahoe’s are heavy around 6,000 lbs. Id like to be somewhere in the 600-650 HP range. Their stage 3 kit shows to be good for up to 700 HP.

Can I keep my Comp Cam or do I need a different cam for turbo use? Im hoping to keep the cam that I currently have it sounds really good and Ive been pleased with the over all power.

Does anyone have any negative feed back on Tricks house turbos or should I do the precision turbo upgrade?

I’m waiting to purchase the turbo kit until my tuner can look and my application to see if he can tune it after the turbo install. I have the E78 ecu ( I guess they get really complicated) Once he gives me his go ahead Ill place the order.

Thanks for the advice.
Old 03-26-2016, 08:59 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 563 Likes on 485 Posts

Their turbo's are just fine, a 70-76mm turbo will do what you want.