PROJECTS GALLERY Vehicle builds | Engine Swaps | Conversions | Installation write ups |

My 08 5.3

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2011, 10:06 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 08 5.3

So I have been a member here for a while and done a few posts and threads but this is my first build thread. Felt it was my time to contribute and show off the truck.

Well here is the truck:
2008 Silverado 1500 LT ECSB 4x4
5.3 flex fuel
4l60e

I picked up the truck about two years ago from a local dealership. I am currently searching for some pictures of it completely stock but I have gone through a computer since then so i'll have to track down my old hard drive.

First thing to go was the stock wheels. Went to a local shop and picked up some black with a polished lip 22" Boss 330s. Just my .02 for anyone looking into these wheels, the polished lip is a pure b*tch to keep clean. Any amount of water practically stains it. The only polish I have found to work is this: Gords Aluminum Wheel Polish Chrome, Cleaner, Polish & Sealer
I went ahead and had the guy lower the rear end 2" to try and level the stock rake out.

Next was some 8k DDM HIDs for my low beams and fogs. About the same time I installed the HIDs a buddy of mine and I put an SLP loudmouth II on it along with the SLP quad tip. I love the sound of the truck and cannot wait until I get some longtubes and a 3" Y pipe and see how it sounds.
This is how the truck looked after that.

Drove the truck for a while like that then decided I was wanting a little more performance. Read through all the very helpful threads on this site and decided to start giving the transmission a little attention. I bought a corvette servo and installed it using the write up on here. It is amazing the difference in shifts. I bought a new K&N drop in filter on Amazon for around $25 shipped.