PROJECTS GALLERY Vehicle builds | Engine Swaps | Conversions | Installation write ups |

Work in progress

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2014, 12:29 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Work in progress

First time I have ever done a thread like this so bear with me.

I've been lurking and window shopping for a while. Actually tried to deal on a couple different trucks but had timing issues with work. After an injury left my right arm paralyzed I figured I would just buy a toy. That toy ended up being a 5.3 swapped S10. After neck surgery to install a metal plate and screws my arm has come back a bit. I won't be winning any arm wrestling matches for a while but beats what I had. So the itch to get dirty is back. I was an ASE master tech for years and my toolbox has been in storage for far too long.

So the project is a 2000 rcsb stepside Silverado Z71. Wasn't looking for a 4x4 but a friend had it and it was cleaner than anything else I could find local.

Goal is a fun daily that I can drive anywhere. Has to be damn reliable. Bed has to useful. Needs to be comfy for long road trips. Low is better for me to get stuff in and out of the back.

I really like the performance of the S10 and the look and stance are just about perfect. I'm not a toothpick and my neck doesn't bend too well so the Silverado is a better choice.

I know....Lets make the big truck look like the little truck!

Well the first thing I did was a double din swap and new speakers. Nothing fancy so no need for details.

Second item was a hard folding bedcover. I have to haul stuff that can't get wet. The folks at advance folding cover did this custom cover that is perfect for our needs.

Then the parts collecting began.