Sponsored by:

Detailing products- got some questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2008, 03:10 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Detailing products- got some questions

i have been detailing cars on the side for almost two years now and i primarily
use Mothers products. i never really wanted to go to in depth into detailing. most cars take me between 2 and 3 hours for the outside and 1 to 1.5 for the inside and i get very good results. what would you guys recommend for cleaners and waxes and the like instead of the mothers if i wanna really go the extra mile on my own vehicle. also, where do you guys usually buy the stuff.
Old 06-17-2008, 05:14 PM
TECH Resident

chemical guys....
Old 06-17-2008, 05:24 PM
On The Tree

Tons of great products and vendors out there. I recommend starting at the big detailing sites - autopia, autogeek, etc. There's also a terrific vendor not too far from you - detailedimage. Add dot org, dot net, and dot com to those three names for more info.

Now...extra mile. That's a really wide range. Do you want to work by hand, or are you considering some paint correction effort by machine? What's your current process? That's probably the best way to give you some good answers.
Old 06-17-2008, 06:04 PM
TECH Apprentice

i'm working by hand. my usual process is a wash, dry, clay bar, wash, dry, sealer, wax and finally a hand buff. also wax all the windows, polish the plastics and crome and rims. tire shine as the last thing.
Old 06-17-2008, 06:28 PM
On The Tree

A couple of products you may want to add...

1. Paint cleanser. Poorboy's Professional Polish is a good one, as is Four Star Ultimate Paint Cleanser. Or, OTC - something like Mother's Pre-wax cleaner or Meguiar's Deep Crystal cleaner. Basically, this is a very mild polish (usually chemical, sometimes abrasive) that preps the finish for sealants and wax. You'd apply this after claying the finish.