Porter Cable Polisher Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2008, 09:39 PM
PT's Slowest Truck

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Porter Cable Polisher Help

I don't know which one to get

http://cpoworkshop.com/polishers/?re...=%7Bkeyword%7D

Remember I'm a newb at detailing, so I really don't know the difference between the 3 listed on that page in the link. How about the re-conditioned one, any good? I'm ready to buy now so I need some help
Old 07-02-2008, 10:46 PM
PT's Slowest Truck

...couldn't wait, ordered the 7424
Old 07-02-2008, 11:01 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

you want the 7424, you can probably find it cheaper on ebay!(http://cgi.ebay.com/Porter-Cable-742...QQcmdZViewItem) you can get your pads(http://autogeek.net/cobra-cross-groove-pads.html) and flex backing plate(http://autogeek.net/lc43125.html) from autogeek
Old 07-02-2008, 11:03 PM
PT's Slowest Truck

Thanks Wesley! What pads do I need?
Old 07-02-2008, 11:16 PM
PT's Slowest Truck

...and do I want the 5 or 6" flexible backing plate?
Old 07-02-2008, 11:44 PM
On The Tree

Personally, the smaller pads the better. I'd go with the 5" backing plate. That will allow you to use 5.5" pads. I've been using a 2.75" backing plate with 4" pads, which makes the PC a pretty powerful device. You're best off starting with 5.5" though - good balance between effectiveness, ease of use, and prevention of any type of damage.

My favorite pads are Lake Country ones. Orange for polishing out the swirls and white for final polishing. You can also use gray if you'd like to apply glazes or waxes via PC. Good luck and happy detailing - you'll love it!