STEREO & ELECTRONICS Audio Components | Radars | Alarms | General Wiring

Need Help Choosing Sub, Amp, and Enclosure

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2012, 10:45 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Need Help Choosing Sub, Amp, and Enclosure

I am a stereo noob to say the least. I know a few things but not nearly enough to make my own descisions

With that being said, I'm looking to add some bass to my '01 Silverado extended cab. Right now it has none, it's pathetic. My head unit will probably be a Kenwood KDC-BT952HD. It has nice features and looks great. The previous owner already has done some wiring for subs under the rear seat. There is a small gauge power cable, some grounds, 12V signal, 2 RCA cables each with 2 RCA plugs, and some other wires that look like speaker wires. I believe the door speakers are Alpine units but I'm not certain. All of them work except for one 4x6 in the rear, haven't had time to check it yet. I think there are six speakers total; 6.5" and tweeters in the doors, and 4x6 in the rear doors.

Right now I'm leaning towards one 12" under the rear seat. The reason for one is that I don't need a ton of bass, and it would be nice to have the other side for storage. Also less weight with one. The reason for 12" is to get the most bang for the buck/space with just one sub. I'm leaning towards getting a package deal with the box, sub, and amp, something like this. I am not looking to spend a lot of money on this since adding bass is low on my priority list at the moment. If I can keep it under $300 I'd be happy.

Some questions I have...
10" or 12"? Will I have a hard time fitting a 12"
Is Kicker an okay brand? If not what would you recommend?
Should I run the door speakers through an amp too? They seen to be fine on the head unit minus the one that doesn't work.
Ported box or sealed?
Any other suggestions for kits?

Thanks!
Old 09-25-2012, 10:56 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts