TOOLS & FABRICATION Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding

CAD users

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2011, 02:06 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CAD users

To all CAD users I have a few questions.
Which program do you prefer, AutoCAd or Solidworks
Are you self taught or did you take classes
How long did it take you to get proficient
What do you think or do you recommend any online courses

Ive been wanting to learn this for awhile so now is the time. Any info you have would be appreciated. I wish I had a copy to play around with.(hint)
Old 10-06-2011, 06:51 AM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

AutoCAD for me! Self taught but worked in the structural and architectual department of a company so I was surrounded by it. No classes just asked questions and played with it CONSTANTLY! It took me about a year to get really solid on it. I never got too much into the 3d drawings but we would do isometric drawings instead of using the 3d side of AutoCAD.

You can find copies on line that will work. Just need a crack (which can also be found on the net) AutoCad is a LARGE file so pulling it off line is ideal. Unless you want to do the full 3d drawings AutoCAD LT of any year will work perfect for you to learn on. I prefer the somewhat older versions because of their ease of use. AutoCAD 2004LT was the last version I was using. Its a pretty solid program!
Old 10-06-2011, 07:02 AM
On The Tree

I have been using CAD since 1987.

I used Unigraphics from 1987 until 2006. I then changed jobs and have been using Solidworks ever since. I went from 2D (1987-1989) to 3D wireframe (1989-1993) then to Solid modeling (1993-present).

I used to swear by UG, but now I prefer Solidworks. I used Autocrap a few times and trust me, Solidworks is 1,000X better. Simply no comparison.