TOWING & OFFROAD PERFORMANCE Towing |Suspension | Wheels | Tires | Drivetrain |where the pavement ends.

Old school traction bars?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2009, 06:20 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Old school traction bars?

I have been running a home made set of traction bars for a few months. They bolt directly to the frame and the rear axle...There is no articulation in the rear end any more so my *** end is really stiff.

I am wanting to take them off and go a different route...Cal Tracs wont work because I have aftermarket hangers and would have to do alot of modding to make them work and at over $300 bucks IMO not worth the hassle.

It has been suggested that maybe I go with an old school traction/slapper bar. I can get a universal set for cheap. I am curious if anyone else has tried these or your thoughts about how effective they may or may not be.

Something like this

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/CEE-2101/?image=large
Old 08-02-2009, 06:29 PM
Staging Lane

i dont think those would work since the axle is below the springs
Old 08-02-2009, 06:30 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have also been curious if these would work on our trucks
Old 08-02-2009, 06:30 PM
11 Second Club

Received 23 Likes on 10 Posts

alot of guys around here don't like them...i've talked to a couple guys that run them on trucks like ours with good success...silver-mod-o used to run a set...i don't think he was impressed though.

fwiw cal-trac does make a set of bars for aftermarket hangers...they're around $500 i believe though
Old 08-03-2009, 06:37 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by DozerDan
alot of guys around here don't like them...i've talked to a couple guys that run them on trucks like ours with good success...silver-mod-o used to run a set...i don't think he was impressed though.

fwiw cal-trac does make a set of bars for aftermarket hangers...they're around $500 i believe though