THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

Found some pics of my old Monte SS (big pics 56K no way)

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2006, 06:35 PM
PT's Slowest Truck

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Found some pics of my old Monte SS (big pics 56K no way)

Been cleaning up lately, getting a room ready for when the baby comes in September During the cleanout, I found an old dusty photo album that looked really familiar. In it was some pics from the mid 90's when I was a tech at Leonard Toyota in River Edge, NJ. Found a bunch of pics that I took of my old Monte back in the day, and scanned them into my computer to show you guys. Man, I miss that car...I kick myself for getting rid of it every time I think about it Maybe some day I'll build another one, but for now, at least I still have some memories...

BTW, the car is an 85, but the wheels are off an 87 with BFG 235/60R-15's on them (I think the factory size was 215/65R-15). I swapped in a ZZ3, or ZZx (can't remember which one) 350 crate motor, worked Rochester feedback carburetor that was intended for a 454 truck, Edelbrock TES headers and y-pipe, gutted cat, and Hooker cat back that exited behind the rear wheels like the old Buick Grand Nationals. The factory 200R4 was great until I had it "built", then it was nothing but problems. Some urethane sway bar hardware, KYB shocks, and some stiff Cargo Coils in the rear helped the cornering. Interior was bone stock except for the radio, steering wheel, and AutoMeter vacuum guage, and it was as clean as the day it rolled off the showroom floor. Drove it to work every day and wherever I had to go on the weekends. (winters definitely sucked though...the rear wheels would start spinning and it would start fishtailing if the weatherman even mentioned snow...)
Old 06-11-2006, 06:40 PM
Mr. Obvious

very nice
Old 06-11-2006, 07:16 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts