THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

the truth about retail auto parts stores

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2012, 10:00 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default the truth about retail auto parts stores

im 27, a veteran of the army for 5 years. I was a wheel mechanic in the service, i got out and did a few different jobs, diesel mechanic, oilfield hand, plant operator, contract mechanic for the army.. just couldnt decide what i wanted to do!

So i decided to go back to college and needed a part time job! Oreillys!! sounded perfect!! I have tons of wrenching experience! This should be a cinch!! WRONG!!!

Let me explain...

The auto parts industry has changed dramatically!! Family owned businesses and small town shops are almost a thing of the past... Auto parts have been "box'd" like mcdonalds or even walmart.... I refer to it as McParts.... or even O'Mart.

Before i joined the oreilly team, i had turned wrenches on just about every piece of equipment the army had, ive turned wrenches on my trucks, on my buddys rides, on alot of different stuff.... but i AM NOT ase certified... I have no acctual accredited eductation in the automotive industry... Everything i have learned in the years ive been doing it has been done by DOING IT! I have NO IDEA about the difference in parts, or automobiles outside my collection...

I can tell you quite a bit about a chevy trucks, because those are MY hobbies..

granted, you dont have to know much about a car to do simple repairs, as a mechanically inclined individual can figure out a tune up, filter swaps, brake jobs, seals and bearings, alternators, starters, ect.... but im not going to overhaul a bmw in my garage out of sheer knowledge and training... get my point??

I consider myself to be a damn good shade tree... but thats it...

So i started at oriellys.... this is where my nightmare began..