Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

2Bar OS Confused

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2006, 08:04 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default 2Bar OS Confused

Guys,
I just got done reading the thread started by Holty on 2bar tuning. Holty Thread

I am confused. I thought about going with the 2Bar OS awhile back and now have the MPVI pro on the way so thinking about it again but I do not want to go mafless. Here is a quote from HPtuners when I inquired about it earlier.

"You cannot run both a MAF and a 2bar. If you use our 2bar VCM Enhancement, you no longer use the MAF. Its a SD only mod."

I read in the above thread that you guys are keeping the MAF. Help me understand. BTW I am a very novice tuner. Keep it simple if you can.
Old 10-21-2006, 08:23 PM
Moderately Differentiated

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

A quote from HPT forum or one of the mods? Linky?

You can use the MAF. The real question is, the whole point of 2bar is because our standard OS (MAP) can't see boost. We are relying on the MAF to get us through boost. Which is quiet okay since 4K RPM+ the MAF is doing all the air calcs (most). But as soon as your MAF fails (read as you have maxed it out) the pcm goes SD and reads the VE table. So you being 9#'s and your MAF fails your pcm is looking at a VE table that only sees 105kpa, not the 170kpa that you'd need. A 2bar VE table, and it will see the proper ve cell for air calc...proper fuel.

Now, why waste the money if you aren't maxing the maf? No real reason too, but your setup has to be damn close. So then the next question is, why not take advantage of awesome fueling tweaks with a 2bar ve table? You can keep your maf, just make it fail earlier. Like 9K hertz or something. That way you get your easy tuning of normal driving and also can tune the ve table to handle your WOT runs. Part MAF and part SD. I am full open loop/SD.