Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

Ground offsets

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2007, 10:17 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ground offsets

I have read about ground offsets in reference to wideband O2's but never really understood them. I am not an electrician but have a basic understanding. What is happening that causes a ground offset and how can it be corrected? Are there other aftermarket parts that can be affected by a ground offset (boost controller, alky injection)?
Old 12-30-2007, 10:30 PM
Moderately Differentiated

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I believe it's the heater circuit in the sensor that causes havoc. It is unreliable, under wired (needs larger gauge wire) and there are a ton of "wiring" ways to get you close. First thing is first, I say get a battery ground into your cab so you can ground everything involved with your WB to it. Fair game. Second, is a calc fix.

http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5267
Old 12-30-2007, 11:03 PM
TECH Addict

OK, I'll pull a battery ground inside. I have an LC-1 with an XD-16 gauge, my gauge seems to read .2-.3 AFR higher than my scantool (EFI live) at stoich. Is this showing me my offset? I read the HPT thread but need to go through it again. Thanks dew!
Old 01-02-2008, 11:52 AM
Doc
FormerVendor

Do you have V1 or V2?

A few short words about the LC-1.... 0-5 volt sensor, fairly precise for the money. The raw output of the sensors' digital signal is processed and fed directly into the controller and output'd directly to LogWorks via your serial to USB conveter. The analog signal you use for your datalogger is processed by a Digital to Analog Converter chip (DAC) to channel 1- yellow wire and channel 2 brown wire.