Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

heat soak issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2013, 01:10 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default heat soak issues

whats goin on everyone? had a few quick questions to ask about what some of ya are doing to lower underhood temps and iat's. winter it really isnt affected much, but last summer it literally felt like 100 horse loss if temps were about 80 degrees out compared to when its 70. im trying to get all these little issues settled before the racing season starts

my first question is have any of you guys used heat wrap on your intake tube? i know its supposed to keep heat in but could it also keep it out to where the tube wont heat up?

also are any of you members wrapping your headers? ive really been thinking about doing so since ive heard it dramatically reduces underhood/iat's but i have no first hand experience. and also is there anything else i can do or thats proven itself to work better?

thanks in advance

tj
Old 03-21-2013, 01:38 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Do you have a way to scan it or watch live data?

and what intake tube/setup are you using?

My IAT sensor is in the EGR port on the side of the intake manifold so i see some really high IATs goin thru a drive thru or something. but it falls fast when it gets some good air flow like it should.
Old 03-21-2013, 02:01 PM
TECH Enthusiast

i personally dont have any data logging software but i do have access to hptuners. as for my intake setup its a 3.5 or 4in spectre cai. correct me if im wrong but as for the iat sensor i thought 99-02's did not have them? ive seen a thread about adding one and having to de-pin two wires for the maf or something like that in order to add an iat?
Old 03-21-2013, 02:03 PM
TECH Fanatic

Oh we do have them built into the maf
Old 03-21-2013, 02:15 PM
TECH Senior Member