Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

HP Tuners or EFI Live

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2007, 10:07 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HP Tuners or EFI Live

I am new to this stuff. I am going to get either efi or hp and cannot decide which to get.

Are they pretty much the same??
What are the differences as far as what you can change??
Which has better support???

I am looking for something to play around with on my 6liter but i am definately going to need some help, or probably even a base tune start with.

I have heard that the 99 and 00's 2500 have some computer issues??? Can i buy a cpu out of a 01 or 02 6 liter and swap them???

Sorry for all the questions but i am a Diesel guru and this is my first gasser truck.

Chris
Old 03-31-2007, 10:16 PM
TECH Junkie

They are both great programs with great support and features. You can't really go wrong with either one. I went with Hp Tuners for the V6 support that I didn't see available with EFI Live. That way I can use the software to work on both of my current vehicles.

As far as upgrading to a newer pcm, I think you can do that but I'm not sure. Someone with more knowlege will have to answer that question.
Old 03-31-2007, 10:17 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts